The Jacatot Weekend

This weekend I went to Paris and I felt like I was one of Jacatot’s students. I had four years of high school french under my belt but was falsely confident in my abilities. The first day was overwhelming yet after being thrown into a place where I was forced to learn the language, I found that it came easier than I thought. Jacatot is right: intelligence can be measured not by one’s innate abilities, but by how much one wants to learn. When I was starving, hungry and cold, I had never been so motivated to learn a language, specifically, how to ask where the closest cheap restaurant was. 

Leave a Reply

